Website Design

|

Website Designers

|

Website Development



Website Quotation


Start your free website design quotation process and have our website designers return a website development quotation quickly and easily.

 




Archive for September, 2007

Who really cares if Vanessa Fox is wrong about SEOmoz being wrong about an SEO Test?

Wednesday, September 12th, 2007

SEOmoz and Rand Fishkin launched an seo quiz to test the metal of self proclaimed seo experts. I took the test and scored a 75% making me an SEO Professional according the the scale. While I agree that the test was somewhat informative, I found it to be more for fun than anything. Several of the questions were global in nature. One such question involved the most preferred search engine in Japan.

There was one question, however, that drew a retort from Vanessa Fox concerning a quote she made that was used out of context as the basis for an answer to one of the questions. I answered the question wrong according to SEOmoz, but I answered it right according to Vanessa Fox. The question and my answer are;

#44 When launching a large amount of new content on a new or existing domain, the best way to release content for crawling and indexing is:

Your Answer: All at once - to allow the spiders to find the content and digest it in their preferred format

Correct Answer: Over time, in multiple smaller sized chunks

As Vanessa Fox noted in an interview (and as others have discovered through testing), the best practice is to use multiple, smaller-sized chunks over time.

Vanessa posted on her blog that this was not how she intended this statement to be used. Vanessa claimed that her quote was addressing 301 to move existing content.

Now another person has thrown their hat into this debate by stating that Vanessa Fox is wrong about SEOmoz being wrong.

My question at this point is - Who gives a shit? Really. It’s not that big of a deal (OMGINBD). The SEO test was fun at best, but I wouldn’t make any business decisions based on the scores touted by the various seo’s out there proudly displaying their SEOmoz SEO Quiz Score Badge. After I took my test, I was given the questions and answers to the entire quiz. What is to stop an unscrupulous seo from retaking the test then promoting themselves as a Dark Lord of SEO?

Also, what the hell is lolcats and lolcutts all about? Get a life folks……

David Scott Mosher Website Scam Update

Wednesday, September 5th, 2007

Since posting my previous blog entry about the Big W Foods Scam, we have learned a little more about our friend David Scott Mosher. We also learned where he got some of the photos he was using for the bios pages;

Sam Alexander is shown as a man in the bios page we created for them. Samantha Alexander is a woman in the bio page created by the other web development company.

The original photo was taken from here and is the photo of Scott A. White who is an attorney at Achille, Ellermeyer, French, and White.

Sam Bradborrow is shown on the profile sheet that we created for them.

The original photo comes from here and he is Dr. Christoph Schreiber and he is a Patent Attorney.

Lisa Cartwright is an unidentified woman but we found the image here.

Also, since I posted this yesterday, David Scott Mosher has done everything from threaten to report me to the BBB to ask how much it will cost for me to remove this blog posting. He even sent me a fake customer testimonial.

I have also found additional websites complaining about him and his other scams;

http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=17272

http://www.complaintsboard.com/?search=mosher

Webmaster Community Alert - BigWFoods Scam

Tuesday, September 4th, 2007

This blog posting serves as a warning to any web developers that might be contacted by a person identifying himself as David Scott with Big W Foods. This is a scam, and here are the details as I have them right now.

They are contacting web developers and they need a shopping cart set up in 2 weeks or less.
They insist that you register the domain names for them.
They will provide credit card information via email and will also provide an approval code for you to enter to get authorization on the card. (This is not a proper authorization).
They will provide text that is in direct copyright violation of Target, Wal Mart, or any other large retailer.
He is sending bogus faxes from his “Bank” Credit Europe. He provided a USA Phone Number of 206-338-3155 which according to Intelius rings to a residential number in Everett Washington.

We registered bigwfoods.com, bigwfoods.co.ok, bigwfoods.co.mx, and a few others. David Scott made 2 payments on 8-14-07 and we received notification on 8-24 from Merchant-e-solutions that the cards were bad.

Description: 4807 Warning Bulletin File - An authorization was not received from the
Issuing Bank and the account number was listed in the MasterCard Electronic Warning
Bulleting file on the date of the transaction.
To Resolve this Chargeback: Please provide documentation to prove the transaction
below was authorized. If a credit has been issued please supply credit receipt showing
date, dollar amount and cardholder number. However, please do not issue a credit upon
receipt of this letter.
Merchant Number: 9410000xxxx
Cardholder #: 526490xxxxxx9130
Chargeback Ref #: 95140617227900xxxx
Control #: 14811xx
Transaction Amount: $1,857.49
Transaction Date: 08/14/2007

Merchant Number: 9410000xxxx
Cardholder #: 526490xxxxxx9130
Chargeback Ref #: 95140617227900xxxx
Control #: 14811xx
Transaction Amount: $2,080.39
Transaction Date: 08/14/2007

When we received the notification, I called him and asked for an explanation. He told me that his wallet was stolen on 8-24 and that was why the charges were reversed. My credit card processor told me that the cards were flagged the day that they were processed on 8-14.

We suspended the accounts on 8-24-07. Since then, he has tried to launch the following sites with the following web developers;

1. bigwfoodsltd.com which was registered by 123triad.com on 8-28-07 (whois shows bombaybiz ltd, but I have spoken to 123triad.com)

2. bigwfood.com which was registered by cambria.com on 8-30-07

I have also spoken with Paragraph Publishing from The U.K. who claims that David Scott tried to pay for $65,000 worth of advertising the same way (bad cards). Tom at Paragraph Publishing says the original website that David Scott is ripping off is http://www.bigw.com.au/

David Scott is also providing photos of his “Staff” to be used on About or Contact pages. Below is a screen capture of the photos he sent us and the photos he sent to Cambria.com. The same people are listed, but different photos have been used;

Bio Info Provided on 8-21-07
Big W Foods Bio Page click to enlarge

Bio Info Provided on 9-1-07
Big W Foods Bio Page click to enlarge

Notice how different Rizza, Trina & Sandra look in the two profile pages.

This “David Scott” is hellbent on launching a website using a variation of Big W Foods for the domain name. He will request that you register the domain, and he will want everything done in as little as a week. I feel that if he successfully launches a shopping cart, hundreds of innocent people will have their identities stolen.

Do yourself and the internet community a favor and do not work with him. Please spread the word about this scam. Lets work together to shut this bastard down.



The Web Design Blog Blog is proudly powered by WordPress